This morning I harvested (and quickly ate) my first home-grown tomato of the season. A tiny cherry tomato, off of my “Sweet 100” plant.

The first of the season - delicious and beautiful

I hope that you have had the chance in your life to eat a tomato, freshly picked. There is nothing in the world quite like it. Sweet, tangy, and with a taste that can only be described as “summer.” Those tomatoes that you buy at the grocery store? Even the “local” organic tomatoes don’t come anywhere close to the flavor of a truly fresh tomato.

Tomatoes are beginning to show up at the farmers market, and I plan on buying a lot of them. Many I will eat right away, to supplement the supply from my three tomato plants. Many I will can, as whole tomatoes, as tomato sauce, and maybe even as marinara, if I’m feeling adventurous.

This year I also want to try oven drying/roasting and freezing grape tomatoes, like this beautiful batch over at Food In Jars (one of my new favorite blogs). I think I’m going to spend a lot of time in the kitchen the next few weeks. I’m excited.

