I’m a huge fan of the Northwest Flower and Garden Show. I go, get big ideas and bigger dreams, and then try to figure out how on earth to create any sort of garden space in my tiny apartment. Luckily, this past year I moved in to a place with ample outside space. The front patio is quite shady, but the back gets full sun, and has lots of open space. Unfortunately, that open space is all paved – but luckily, two years ago, the RE-Store‘s exhibit at the Garden Show featured several great ways to create container gardens out of re-purposed items. One of the ideas that stuck with me was using drawers to create garden beds. So, armed with these ideas, a cordless drill, and a free afternoon, I made my own urban garden – in drawers, pots, and, yes, a plastic tub that was once a cat litter box:

Tomatoes

3 kinds of tomatoes – Early Girl Bush, Patio, and Sweet 100s.

Peas in a drawer

Snap Peas

2 kinds of zucchini

2 different zucchini, and kale in the red pot between them

Sweet Peas

Sweet Peas

I also have several herbs – Chives, Oregano, Rosemary, Basil, Parsley, and Cilantro. Yum!

